276°
Posted 20 hours ago

A Spoonful of Murder: The first book in a hilarious and totally unputdownable cosy murder mystery series for fans of The Thursday Murder Club

£9.9£99Clearance
ZTS2023's avatar
Shared by
ZTS2023
Joined in 2023
82
63

About this deal

Barnabus’s Primary School who meet up every Thursday at the Thirsk Garden Centre café sharing gossip and tidbits about their lives and families. Not only am I a retired educator who meets with colleagues regularly over coffee or a meal, but I am a huge cozy mystery fan. The 103 third parties who use cookies on this service do so for their purposes of displaying and measuring personalized ads, generating audience insights, and developing and improving products.

One week later – Topsy is dead – and something she told one of her old school colleagues is playing on her friends mind. It follows a close group of ex-teachers who are thrust into a murder mystery when one of their friends meets an untimely end. The interview with the author at the end is wonderful as well (I love these little snippets into their lives - not that I am a stalker or anything. Topsy is clearly suffering from some form of memory related illness and it's clearly taking a toll on Kellyanne. Something about her passing isn't setting right with anyone and as the three retirees start looking into the life and death of Topsy Joy they find themselves embroiled in a modern day Miss Marple mystery - very British, very low-key, absolutely no blood, guts or autopsies.Fans of The Thursday Murder Club, Death in Paradise and Midsomer Murders will be hooked from the very first page. With the victim in the early stages of dementia, it looks like an accident with no foul play speculated. Despite the best efforts of her daughter, the idea that 'Mum muddled' her tablets and inadvertently overdosed, while Kelly Anne was away for the weekend, doesn’t sit well with Thelma, Liz and Pat, who become unlikely investigators.

I struggled with all of the three leading characters, there wasn’t really any distinctive characteristic differences between them and I couldn’t tell who was who even by the end of the book. While the mystery and the ladies antics were somewhat humorous, there are some serious issues dealt with in this story. If you like a good cosy crime, with emotional and thoughtful undercurrent, this may well be the book for you.Tarsi kažkiek ir skirtingos, bet man jos nuolat sulipdavo į kažkokį trigalvį slibiną – Lizpathelmiką. The course of the women's investigatory efforts is interwoven with the narrative of each of their own home lives and the goings-on around the town of Thirsk. I loved Julie Hesmondhalgh narrating this book It really added to the cosy crime aspect and the subtle humour present throughout which she brought through so well when reading. Three retired schoolteachers who meet up with each other every Thursday (and there’s a completely believable reasoning behind why it has to be a Thursday) for cake, coffee and a chat about children and grandchildren.

The audiobook contains a bonus interview with the author which provides background on the novel, including that his own vulnerable father had been defrauded in a similar fashion to Topsy. It's simple prose and gentle telling make this is a great spring garden book - put down your secateurs, grab a brew and indulge in a chapter or two on the patio.From an interview with the author that was placed at the conclusion of the audiobook edition, it transpires that J. Retired teachers and friends Thelma, Liz and Pam are saddened by Topsy’s death, and would never have thought anything was off about the situation, but a word here and there sets each off into asking questions and poking at situations to find out whether Topsy really did accidentally overdose or was murdered. The voices of the women were so well written he has closely observed mannerisms and figures of speech. It brought so much more to the book and I hope other audios include something similar in the future.

They are three very different characters, all very carefully created and developed, each with characteristics that both endeared and, at times, frustrated me. This isn't a psychological drama so if you're looking for another Girl on the Train or Gone Girl this isn't it.I know that the three women, Liz, Thelma and Pat, were great characters, brought perfectly to life in the audio, and really good to spend time with. Though Topsy's death is attributed to her “muddling” her medication , the friends take it upon themselves to investigate both her death and the bank fraud which occurred prior to the same, all the while dealing with their personal family concerns.

Asda Great Deal

Free UK shipping. 15 day free returns.
Community Updates
*So you can easily identify outgoing links on our site, we've marked them with an "*" symbol. Links on our site are monetised, but this never affects which deals get posted. Find more info in our FAQs and About Us page.
New Comment