276°
Posted 20 hours ago

Date with Evil: A delightfully witty and charming mystery set in the Yorkshire Dales: 8 (The Dales Detective Series, 8)

£4.495£8.99Clearance
ZTS2023's avatar
Shared by
ZTS2023
Joined in 2023
82
63

About this deal

The reader knows who it is as the novel is told from various points of view, but they don’t know the lengths he will go to or why. Each of the three first on the scene - Ana, Gareth, and Rick - is a later suspect and each contacts Samson and Delilah to help prove their innocence. Samson had realised that all the cases Dales Detective Agency were working on were related, but now Delilah is missing. This is book 6 in what is turning out to be a very good series with strong characters, a good blend of main plots and smaller ones, and above all a compelling personal lives story.

Thing But with Samson O’Brien still in London helping the Met Police clear his name, and the newly appointed member of the investigations team, Ida Capstick, distracted by her brother George’s insistence that their farm is haunted, Delilah Metcalfe is struggling to meet the mounting demands for the agency’s services.

Following on from Date with Betrayal, and coming in 2023, this new novel delights with its combination of beguiling charm and witty ingenuity. Wonderfully engaging, Julia Chapman’s latest Dales mystery is perfect for fans of Richard Osman’s The Thursday Murder Club series . Samson tells the gypsies (and Delilah) that his grandmother was a traveller and he has no prejudices against gypsies.

Apparently, full of regret, he later committed suicide - but of course there is a lot more to the story as it unfolds. She was born about 1969 to Irish immigrant parents who had scrapped their TV, and never owned another one. It’s hard to know which crackles with energy more, the various explosions and fires or their chemistry. I have enjoyed this series immensely from book one and would say please read the other books before this one as this brings together threads from a few of the previous books. Chapman has created a superb cast of characters with all the domestic gossip, rivalries, fallings-out and community spirit anyone who grew up in a small town will love and recognise.He is accused of stealing confiscated drugs from the police vaults, and selling them for personal gain.

She had had to flee her brute of a dad Carl Thornton, who was coming home drunk, and beating his wife Marian. Having said all that, it was a gripping tale and I didn't want to stop till the denouement, which sadly fell slightly flat as the master criminal just seemed to fade out.The Metcalfes are a local family, and Delilah has a mother, two local brothers Will and Ash, and a sister-in law Lucy who runs Peaks Patisserie.

Asda Great Deal

Free UK shipping. 15 day free returns.
Community Updates
*So you can easily identify outgoing links on our site, we've marked them with an "*" symbol. Links on our site are monetised, but this never affects which deals get posted. Find more info in our FAQs and About Us page.
New Comment